This sport is always on my mind.

Draft Analysis 2012

Even though the draft is already over, and has been for some time, I still see the need to post my thoughts about it, so here it is.

I thought the biggest shocker in the draft were these words, “with the second pick in the draft the Charlotte Bobcats select Michael Kidd-Gilchrist.”  I mean, I really respect MKG, and he has great  defense, as I learned first hand when Kentucky went up against Florida, but he is just not what they need. Many say he is just a defensive guy, which I believe, because he wasn’t the first option scorer at Kentucky either. What Charlotte needs is a scorer and I thought that would have been provided in Bradley Beal, Thomas Robinson, or even Dion Waiters. Michael continues to make bad choices and we have to ask, “what will happen to Charlotte?,  Will the Carolinas lose another NBA basketball team because of the bad choices of their state hero?”

The only other thing I really need to talk about was my Indiana Pacers drafting Miles Plumlee. I have to admit as soon as I heard his name and the word “Pacers.” It really ruined my week, I was like, “How can you pick Miles Plumlee over Marquis Teague (who went to high school in Indianapolis), Draymond Green, and Perry Jones III? I mean, what is Larry Bird thinking?” Well now I know what Larry Legend was up to. I watched Miles in summer league and he is at totally different player from the guy I saw at Duke. He has great post moves he hustles and he doesn’t look like he will get injured easily (cough, Perry Jones III got injured almost right away).

To Larry Bird, thanks for thinking of our well being instead of the obvious choice.

Leave a Reply

